Babycakes NYC Waffles

Last Saturday morning (after promising for many weeks since the opening) I took the Spoonman for a waffle breakfast at Babycakes’s new location on Larchmont Blvd. The waffles were dessert like,  softer than the ones I make from the Babycakes cookbook recipe, probably the result of a shorter cooking time and a generous coating with coconut oil or melted frosting. While spreading frosting on my waffles might not what I do at home they were sure a tasty treat. It was the first time in many years I was able to order waffles at a restaurant since I have been gluten-free/wheat free. Growing up as a kid my favorite restaurant breakfast was waffles, the whole family would walk down to Nat’s Early Bite  on the corner and I would always order the belgium waffles. I can still remember how in awe I was of the waffle making process since it was never something my mom made and I always thought that if my mom didn’t make it is must have been very difficult since she was such a hard worker and a great chef.  Thanks Babycakes for helping me re-join the ranks of angelnos who enjoy enjoy a good breakfast out.

Leave a Reply

