Baked Apples

What do you do with the wrinkly apples one finds when cleaning out the fruit drawer? The answer is to make baked apples, just like the ones my mom would make for me when I was a little girl.  This Jewish classic, unlike kugel, latkes and matzo ball soup, is good for your diet. I feel especially good about this dish not only because I am not wasting food (oy vey, don’ throw away perfectly good fruit), but also because it is a yummy dessert that won’t expand my waistline.

Baked Apples

3 apples (or more)

A handful of raisins

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tbs palm sugar* (or brown sugar)

1 orange (juice only)

Core the apples and discard the pith and seeds. Place the apples in a baking dish; stuff the cavities of the apples with raisins and palm sugar. Pour the orange juice over the apples. Bake at 400 for 30-45 minutes.

*I used palm sugar for a caramelized taste and since it is a more natural sugar (i.e. less processed).  Palm sugar can be found at Thai markets or a “super” Asian market like Ranch 99. If you live in Los Angeles I highly recommend Bangkok Market.

Leave a Reply

