Two-Tone Green Beans

Like my two-tone Taryn Rose oxford shoes (see picture below), this dish of green and white beans is eye-catching and functional. I picked up the beans at the Friday Echo Park farmers market. I am partial to my neighborhood Larchmont farmers market that I frequent on most Sundays, but  I also like the Echo Park farmers market because it is on my way home from work. And it is small enough that I can dash in, pick up a few items and still be home before the Spoonman is. I got the beans from this great vegetable vendor (in the southeast corner next to the cheese guy) that carries unusual items like lemon basil, chamomile, squash blossoms and Japanese cucumbers. What made this dish sing is that I sautéed the green beans on high, so that they were grilled on the outside while retaining their crunch on the inside. And made a Thai-inspired salad dressing to boot.

These two-tone Taryn Rose beauties are very similar to the ones I scored off of e-bay last year. They look and feel  great with work slacks and I get the “great shoes” and the occasional the “those are dancing shoes” remarks from everyone in the elevator.

Two Tone Green Beans

2 pounds green beans

1 tbsp olive oil

3 green onions

1 tbsp fish sauce

1 tbsp soy sauce

1 tbsp rice vinegar

1 tbsp agave or maple syrup or honey

2 tbsp cilantro chopped

1 tsp sesame seeds

Sauté the green onions in olive oil for a few minutes then add green beans and cook for 5-10 min until the beans are singed on the outside but still al dente. Don’t worry if the beans are still a bit firm as they will continue to cook while they cool. Mix the remaining ingredients together to make the dressing and pour over the beans. Top the dish with a sprinkling of chopped cilantro.

Leave a Reply

